May 2021 Monthly Current Affairs PDF and Quiz

May 2021 Monthly Current Affairs PDF and Quiz

Most Important May Monthly Current Affairs 2021 questions and answers are mentioned in this article. The categories like ‘Appointment’ and ‘Awards and Honour’ are discussed in the article and the rest points will be available in the pdf provided at the end of the article. The May 2021 Monthly Current Affairs PDF and Quiz have been compiled for the upcoming Government Job Examinations like SBI Clerk, IBPS PO, SBI PO, RBI Grade B, SSC CGL, UPSC, State PSCs like WBCS, UPPSC, UP Police SI, Defence Exams like NDACDSAFCATCAPF, Indian Coast Guard etc. Monthly Current Affairs Magazine TextBooq is organized in a categorized format. 



Indian-American Vanita Gupta is the first Indian to be appointed the Associate Attorney General of the US.

T V Somanathan is the new Finance Secretary succeeding Ajay Bhushan Pandey.

Amitabh Chaudhry is the MD and CEO of Axis Bank.

T Rabi Sankar is appointed the Dy.Governor of RBI.

Retired Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant appointed the chairperson of the National Human Rights Commission.

Mahesh Balasubramanian is appointed the MD of Kotak Mahindra Life Insurance Company Limited.

Indian shuttler PV Sindhu and Canada’s Michelle Li have been named as ambassadors for the International Olympic Committee’s ‘Believe in Sport’ campaign.

Greg Abel will be the CEO of Berkshire Hathaway Inc. He succeeds Warren Buffett.

Raman Meenakshi Sundaram has been appointed the Director of the Indian Institute of Rice Research.

Vijay Goel is the new CMD of THDC India Ltd.

MK Stalin appointed the CM of Tamil Nadu.

N Rangasamy becomes CM of Puducherry.

Ujjwala Singhania appointed the 38th National President of the FICCI Ladies Organization.

Himanta Biswa Sharma is the CM of Assam.

Bill Nelson was sworn in as the 14th NASA administrator.

Jose J Kattoor is appointed the executive director of the RBI.

Padmakumar M Nair has been named the CEO of Bad Bank, a proposed entity of the National Asset Reconstruction Company Ltd.

Arun Kumar Singh is the new CMD of Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd (BPCL).

British diplomat Martin Griffiths is appointed the new Chief of UN Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs.

K P Sharma Oli becomes the Prime Minister of Nepal for the third time.

Ramesh Powar becomes the head coach of the Indian national women’s cricket team.

Sir David Attenborough has been named the COP26 People’s Advocate.

Indian-American Neera Tanden appointed as senior adviser to US President Joe Biden.

Ajanta Neog becomes the first woman Finance Minister of Assam.

Elisabetta Belloni becomes the first female to head the Department of Information Security (DIS).

Moctar Ouane has been reappointed as the Prime Minister of Mali after submitting his resignation.

Penpa Tsering has been elected the new president of the exile government of Tibet.

Pinarayi Vijayan is sworn in as the CM of Kerala.

Martha Karambu Koome becomes Kenya’s first woman chief justice.

Narendra Batra is the new President of the International Hockey Federation (FIH)

Rajesh Bansal becomes the CEO of Reserve Bank Innovation Hub

Himanta Biswa Sarma is elected as a member of the Badminton World Federation Council for 2021-25.

Subodh Kumar Jaiswal has become Director of CBI

Prashant Kumar Mishra is the new Chief Justice of Chhattisgarh High court

Fiame Naomi Mata’afa became the first woman Prime Minister of Samoa

Jagjit Pavadia becomes President of the International Narcotics Control Bureau

Guillermo Lasso has been elected President of Ecuador

Anatole Collinet Makosso becomes PM of the Republic of Congo

Andy Jassy will be the new CEO of Amazon. He succeeds Jeff Bezos.

Dr Harsh Vardhan has become the chairman of the WHO Executive Board.

Arun Venkatraman becomes the Director-General of US and Foreign Commercial services.

Christine Wormuth becomes the first female Army secretary of the USA.

Bashar Al-Assad becomes the President of Syria

Laurence des Cars becomes the first woman president of the Louvre Museum, Paris, France.

Indian actor Randeep Hooda has been removed from UN’s Convention Migratory Species ambassador.

CRPF DG Kuldeep Singh becomes the additional DG of NIA.

Awards and Honours

Anupam Kher won the Best Actor award at the New York City International Film Festival.

Indian-origin Dr Tahera Qutbuddin became the first Indian to win the Sheikh Zayed Book Award.

Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency Ltd. (IREDA) has been awarded the Green Energy Award 2021.

Dr Shakuntala Haraksingh Thilsted, a global nutrition expert of Indian descent has won the prestigious 2021 World Food Prize.

Education minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ wins the International Invincible Gold Medal Award 2021.

Dr Shankar Balasubramanian and Dr David Klenerman win the 2020 Millenium Technology Prize by Technology Academy Finland. They win the award for fast, accurate, low-cost and large-scale genome sequencing.

Suresh Mukund becomes the first Indian to win the ‘World Choreography Award′ for the year 2020.

Former ISRO Chairman Dr K Kasturiranjan wins the Basavashree Award 2020.

Nav Bhatia has been inducted Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame as “The Superfan”

Renowned naturalist Jane Goodall wins the Templeton Prize 2021 for lifetime achievement.

Football star Harry Ken wins the Premier League Golden Boot award 2021.

Shaji N.M. wins India Biodiversity Award 2021 in the ‘Conservation of domesticated species’ category.

Dr Nageshwar Reddy is the first Indian to win the Rudolf Schindler award.

VK Pandian has been conferred for FIH President’s Award.

Healthcare company SpiceHealth has won the Gold Award at the 2021 Asia-Pacific Stevie Awards.

‘Recycling Carbon Technology’ by the Breathe Applied Sciences wins the TDB National Award 2021.

Amartya Kumar Sen has been conferred with Spain’s ‘2021 Princess of Asturias Award’, which is named for Spanish Crown Princess Leonor.

Indian Chemist C.N.R. Rao Receives the 2020 International ENI Award.

Yuvraj Singh, Moolchand Yadav, Ivan Michael Picardo will receive the UN’s prestigious medal for peacekeeping.

Two Indian films “Seththuman” and “Bittu” have won the Grand Jury Award at the 19th Indian Film Festival.

Famous singer Pink wins the Icon Award at the 2021 Billboard Music Awards.

Bengaluru-based Japanese teacher, Shyamala Ganesh has been awarded the “Order of Rising Sun” by Japan.

Dr Evita Fernandez has received the Yudhvir Memorial Award.

German philosopher Juergen Habermas won the UAE Sheikh Zayed Book Award. But, he refused it.

Maria Ressa of the Philippines wins the 2021 Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

11th Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival 2021:

Best Actor (Female): Deepika Padukone, Chhapaak

Best Actor (Male): Akshay Kumar, Laxmi

Critic’s Best Actress: Kiara Advani, Guilty

Critic’s Best Actor: Sushant Singh Rajput

Best Film- Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior

Best International Feature Film: Parasite

Most Versatile Actor: Kay Kay Menon

Best Director: Anurag Basu, Ludo

Best Web Series- Scam: 1992

Album of the Year: Titliyaan

Outstanding Contribution to Film Industry: Dharmendra

Outstanding Contribution to Literature in Indian Cinema: Chetan Bhagat

Famous singer Pink wins the Icon Award at the 2021 Billboard Music Awards.

Justice Gita Mittal will be awarded Arline Pacht Global Vision Award for 2021.

Also Read 

Textbooq‘s previous month’s magazine

Textbooq’s Monthly Magazine

Download and Boost Your Preparation


You can also Download the Monthly Edition of the compilation of our Daily Current Affairs Notes


May Monthly Current Affairs 2021 Quiz

Click Here to Attempt the quiz

Share The Article

Leave a comment

Open chat
Need Help? Chat with us
How can we help you?
Christmas 2021: Do You Know How Did Christmas Originate? Technology: A Boon or Bane? Durga Puja: UNESCO Cultural Heritage