Modern Indian History MCQ for SSC, WBCS, UPSC

When the annexation of Oudh took place?
a. 1849
b. 1850
c. 1852
d. 1856

Ans. d
Explanation: –
By signing the policy of Subsidiary alliance in 1801 during the reign of Lord Wellesley, the Oudh was under the supervision of the British. Later, Lord Dalhousie annexed Oudh by the Doctrine of Lapse in 1856.

Who founded the Madrasatul Uloom Musalmanan-e-Hind?
a. Mirza Mohammad
b. Sir Sayyid Ahmed Khan
c. Maulana Qasim Nanotvi
d. Maulana Abdullah Ansari

Ans. b
Sir Sayyid Ahmed Khan founded the Madrasatul Uloom Musalmanan-e-Hind or Mohammedan Anglo Oriental College in 1875.

The Public Works Department was set up in which year?
a. 1852
b. 1854
c. 1856
d. 1858

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The Central Public Works Department was set by Lord Dalhousie in July, 1854.

When the Queen Victoria was declared the Empress of India?
a. 1858
b. 1866
c. 1877
d. 1879

Ans. c
Explanation: –
In the year 1877, Queen Victoria was declared the Empress of India. Lord Lytton was the Viceroy of India at that time.

Which news paper was started by Annie Besant?
a. The Adyar Bulletin
b. Young India
c. The Hour of Trial
d. The Daily Gazette

Ans. a
Annie Besant started The Adyar Bulletin that continued till 1929. She also started a socialist newspaper named ‘Commonweal’, a daily news paper ‘New India’.

Who was/ were the judge(s) of Supreme Court?
1. Sir Elijah Impey
2. Stephen Caesar Le Maistre
3. Robert Chambers
4. Justice Hyde
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:
a. 1 only
b. 1 & 3
c. 1, 2 & 4
d. 1, 2, 3 & 4

Ans. d
Explanation: –
Supreme Court was established at Kolkata by the Regulating Act of 1773. Sir Elijah Impey was appointed as the First Chief Justice.

By introducing which act, slavery was abolished in India?
a. Act V of 1843
b. Regulating Act of 1773
c. Declaratory Act of 1781
d. Indian Council Act of 1861

Ans. a
Explanation: –
By introducing Act V of 1843 slavery was declared illegal.

Clement Atlee declared about the cessation of British rule by which date?
a. 30th June 1948
b. 3rd June 1948
c. 15th August 1947
d. 30th June 1947

Ans. a
Explanation: –
Clement Atlee declared about the cessation of British rule in India by 30th June 1948.

The Extremists of Indian National Congress wanted the 1907 session to be held in which place?
a. Nagpur
b. Kolkata
c. Madras
d. Kanpur

Ans. a
Explanation: –
Nagpur was the choice of the extremists for the 1907 session of INC. But Moderates wanted it at Surat and it took place at Surat.

Where was the first revolutionary organization in Punjab established?
a. Saharanpur
b. Batala
c. Jandiala
d. Phagwara

Ans. a
Explanation: –
The first revolutionary organization in Punjab was established at Saharanpur by J.M. Chatterjee in 1904.

The birthday of who is celebrated as Bal Divas in India?
a. Mahatma Gandhi
b. Jawaharlal Nehru
c. Bal Gangadhar Tilak
d. Gopal Krishna Gokhale

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The birthday of Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s First Prime Minister (14th November) is celebrated as Bal Divas or Children’s Day all over India.

Which act introduced provincial autonomy?
a. Government of India Act 1858
b. Indian Council Act 1892
c. Government of India Act 1935
d. Government of India Act 1919

Ans. c
Explanation: –
The government of India Act, 1935, introduced provincial autonomy.

Annie Besant joined which of the following in 1874?
a. National Secular Society
b. Indian National Congress
c. Hindustan Socialist Republican Association
d. The Communist Party of India

Ans. a

The Press Law Inquiry Committee of 1948 suggested for repealing which law?
a. Indian States (Protection) Act of 1934
b. Foreign Relations Act of 1932
c. Indian Press (Emergency Powers) Act of 1932
d. All of the Above

Ans. d
Explanation: –
The Government of India set up a Press Law Inquiry Committee in 1948, which offered for repealing the Indian States (Protection) Act of 1934, the Foreign Relations Act of 1932, the Indian Press (Emergency Powers) Act of 1932. Ganganath Jha was the chairman.

When was the Hartog committee appointed?
a. 1929
b. 1942
c. 1948
d. 1964

Ans. a
Explanation: –
In the year 1929, Hartog Committee was appointed for necessary measurements over the downfall of the standard of education due to the increased number of educational institutions under the chairmanship of Sir Philip Joseph Hartog.

Who was the founder of Ramakrishna Mission?
a. Derozio
b. Ram Mohan Roy
c. Swami Vivekananda
d. Sri Ramakrishna Parama Hamsar

Ans. c
Explanation:- Swami Vivekananda was the founder of Ramakrishna Mission in Calcutta in 1897.

Arrange the following educational commission in chronology order
1. Hunter Commission
2. Kothari Commission
3. Radhakrishnan Commission
4. Saddler Commission
Choose the correct option from the codes given below :
a. 1, 2, 3, 4
b. 1, 4, 3, 2
c. 1, 3, 4, 2
d. 1, 2, 4, 3

Ans. b
Explanation: –
Hunter Commission- 1882
Saddler Commission- 1917
Radha Krishnan Commission- 1948
Kothari Commission- 1964.

Share The Article

Leave a comment

Open chat
Need Help? Chat with us
How can we help you?