Modern Indian History MCQ for SSC, WBCS, UPSC

Before being monk, what was the name of Swami Vivekananda?
a. Narendranath Datta
b. Vishwanath Datta
c. Upendranath Datta
d. Vasava Datta

Ans. a
Explanation:- Swami Vivekananda was known as Narendranath Datta before being monk.

Who said that Raja Rammohan Roy is “the human link between the unfading past and the dawning future”?
a. Nandalal Chatterjee
b. Rabindranath Tagore
c. Devendranath Tagore
d. Keshab Chandra Sen

Ans. a
Explanation: –
Nandalal Chatterjee said about Raja Rammohan Roy that he is “the human link between the unfading past and the dawning future”.

Who was the chairman of the first famine commission?
a. John Lyall
b. Richard Strachey
c. Antony Macdonell
d. K.C. Neogy

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The first famine commission was appointed in the year of 1778 under the chairmanship of Richard Strachey.

Which commission was appointed after the Bengal Famine,1943?
a. Strachey Commission
b. Lyall Commission
c. Macdonell Commission
d. Woodhead Commission

Ans. d
Explanation: –
Woodhead Commission was appointed after the Bengal Famine of 1943 to set up All India Food Council.

Where was the Hindustan Socialist Republican Association founded in 1928?
a. Kanpur
b. Delhi
c. Allahabad
d. Lahore

Ans. b
Explanation: –
Bhagat Singh, Yogendra Shukla and Chandrashekar Azad founded Hindustan Socialist Republican Association 1928 in Delhi. It was earlier known as the Hindustan Republican Association.

Which party did not support the Quit India Movement?
a. The Hindu Mahasabha
b. The Communist Party of India
c. The Unionist Party of Punjab
d. All the above

Ans. d
Explanation: –
The Hindu Mahasabha, The Communist Party of India, and The Unionist Party of Punjab did not support Quit India Movement launched on 8th August, 1942n by Mahatma Gandhi demanding the end of the British Rule of India.

In which year did the Kakori conspiracy case took place?
a. 1920
b. 1925
c. 1930
d. 1935

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The Kakori robbery was done by the Hindustan Republican Association in the year 1925

Choose the correct statement about Gandhiji’s Champaran Movement
a. The security of the rights of Harijans
b. Civil disobedience Movement
c. Maintaining of Unity of Hindu Society
d. Solving the problems of Indigo worker

Ans. d
Explanation: –
The Champaran Satyagraha was the first Satyagraha movement led by Mahatma Gandhi in India to oppose the Tinkathia system.

During who’s Viceroyalty, the institution of local self government got a fillip?
a. Lord Mayo
b. Lord Ripon
c. Lord Dufferin
d. Lord Curzon

Ans. b
Explanation: –
Lord Ripon was called the father of local self governance.

Match the following choices correctly?
Plan Year
1. The August Offer 8 August 1940
2. The Cabinet Mission Plan 3 March 1943
3. The Cripps Mission Plan 1946
4. The Wavell Plan 14 June – 1945
Select the correct option from the codes given below:
a. Only 1 & 2
b. Only 1, 2 & 4
c. Only 1 & 4
d. 1, 2, 3 & 4

Ans. c
Explanation: –
August Offer – 8 August 1940
The Cripps mission Plan – 3 March 1943
Wavell Plan – 14 June – 1945
Cabinet Mission Plan – 1946

During which movement, Bal Gangadhar Tilak was honoured with ‘Lok-Manya’?
a. Swadeshi Movement
b. Revolutionary Movement
c. Home Rule Movement
d. Quit India Movement

Ans. c
Explanation: –
Bal Gangadhar Tilak was given the epithet ‘Lok-Manya’ during the Home Rule Movement. The British called him the “Father of the Indian unrest.”

When the Hindu Pioneer was started publishing?
a. 1827
b. 1831
c. 1834
d. 1878

Ans. d
G. Subramania Iyer published the Hindu Pioneer in 1878.

Which statement(s) is/are correct?
1. The Khilafat Movement did bring the Urban Muslims into the fold of the National Movement.
2. There was a predominant element of anti-imperialism in both the National and Khilafat Movements.
Select the correct answer from the codes given below:
a. Only 1
b. Only 2
c. Both 1 & 2
d. Neither 1 & 2

Ans. c

Who was the Diwan of Travancore during the time of integration with India?
a. C. P. Ramaswami Iyer
b. T. Madhava Rao
c. T. Raghavaiah
d. P. Rajagopalachari

Ans. a
Explanation: –
C. P. Ramaswami Iyer was the Diwan of Travancore during the time of integration with India on1947.

When did Chalisa famine happen?
a. 1837–38
b. 1783–84
c. 1769-70
d. 1750-55

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The Chalisa famine of 1783–84 happened by El Nino in 1780 and caused severe droughts.

Which princely state of British Raj joined Pakistan immediately?
1. Makran
2. Kharan
3. Las Bela
Choose the correct option from the codes given below :
a. 1 & 2
b. 1, 2 & 3
c. 2& 3

Ans. b
Explanation: –
Makran, Kharan, Las Bela immediately joined Pakistan. Later, Kalat joined Pakistan on 27 March 1948.

Who established the India League in 1875?
a. Jagannath Shankar Seth
b. Sisir Kumar Ghose
c. Dwarkanath Tagore
d. Dadabhai Naoroji

Ans. b
Explanation: –
The India league was established by Sisir Kumar Ghose in 1875.

Share The Article

Leave a comment

Open chat
Need Help? Chat with us
How can we help you?